top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Aethereal Realm

The Constancy of Change

Of all of Life's oxymora, I think this one frustrates me the most. Change is constant, steadfast, faithful. The one thing we can fully rely on is that Life is ever changing. Just when we think we can finally sit back and exhale, change is in our face. Ugh, right?


Well, yes and no. Maybe what's really in our face isn't change, but resistance to change.


Change is the natural order of things. Without it, our bodies would cease to grow, fight, and heal. Imagine having the same hair we were born with; those short wispy strands sticking straight up with the light shining through them. Imagine never growing at all! What if we all

stayed around six pounds and eighteen inches tall? What if, in our itsy bitsy adult bodies, we had never learned to read and write, or cook and bake, or think beyond the thoughts we come into this world as newborns with. That's just silly, right? Or, is it? We accept those kinds of changes without question. Why then do we balk when change happens in other areas of our lives?


There are many levels of resistance, just as there are many levels of change. In extreme situations, resistance can save our lives. We teach children to resist if a stranger tries to pull them into a car. We teach those in recovery to resist being led back into addiction. On other levels, some resist what they see as government overreach and others resist pineapple on pizza. Resistance to change isn't always wrong, but is it always right?


This is where discernment comes into play. Am I afraid of this change because it's going to actually harm me, or am I afraid of stepping out of my comfort zone? What will I have to give up in order to allow this change in myself? Am I clinging to beliefs that no longer serve my highest good?


Together, let's commit to making one small change in ourselves this week that will increase our potential, and make our experience in this incarnation better. Maybe we could commit to trying to catch a negative thought and rephrasing it to something positive.

For example:

Changing "I failed at _____" to "What a great lesson! Now I know what not to do next time." Or, maybe something like adding a few extra vegetables in our meals.

Or, maybe letting go of a grudge that we've been holding on to.

Or, I will be mindfully present and listen to my child intently when they talk to me without thinking of what I'd rather be doing.

Or, looking in the mirror and noticing something beautiful about ourselves rather than complaining about a perceived flaw.

Etc. etc. ...

You get the idea, but feel free to email me at TheAetherealRealm@gmail.com for more ideas on how to recognize resistance to change, and what steps we can take to help overcome it. Together, we can set up an affordable plan that works for you, and take steps to reach your highest Joy.

<3




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page